Digital History Blogs

The three blogs I followed were Picture This, Media Matters, and ARTstor’s Blog. I chose these three because they all sounded relatively interesting and pertained to some of my interests, which include photography, technology, and art. I also chose to follow TED Talks because I’m a fan and I feel like their material usually pertains to my interests.

Picture This showcases special images chosen from the Library of Congress. Sounds important, but apparently there are only two followers. The blog doesn’t do much to entice their viewers. They’ll post one or two images of newly founded collections, but rarely ever are they eye-catching enough to entice you to further investigate. It is interesting to have that visual source of a different era, but it’s nothing we haven’t seen before. I also remember their blog being inactive during the government shutdown.

Media Matters was a lot more interesting and probably my favorite out of the three. This division of historians aren’t limited to just photographs, but any form of media that preserves some form of history. They’ll post short video clips, audio, maps, posters – any form of historical media. And these aren’t just scraps of information, they’re actually interesting. My favorite post from them so far has been relating to UFO sightings from 1952-1969, before there was any sort of video editing software.

ARTstor’s Blog offered their newest collections and images, usually as links to their main site. I didn’t like how it barely talks about their new collections or images as subject matter. Just where they’ve obtained them.

TED Talks offers many short, professional speeches that provide insight to a variety of topics. From how to be a better story teller, to talks that relate to our Digital History class and how technology is effecting the way we experience things. TED’s Blog offers an approachable and charming method of conveying information and ideas, that makes you want to come back for more.

Overall, I’d say my blog experience has given me more insight on the purpose of blogs. I still don’t think I have much of a use for them in my daily life, but they are good source of information and consistent content.

Leave a Reply

